Answer in a Breeze


I don’t know what council district that I live in for the coming city council election?
How do I find out?

Randy Vita


Randy: You can go to (A little complex) and type in your address to find your district.

To expand on your question this is the make up of our city council (and a little more information).

Matt LaVere, Mayor – at large

Sofia Rubalcava, Deputy Mayor – District 1

Lorrie Brown, Councilmember – District 6

Jim Friedman, Councilmember – District 5

Cheryl Heitmann, Councilmember – at large

Erik Nasarenko, Councilmember – District 4

Christy Weir, Councilmember – at large

There are 7 members of the Ventura City Council. Each member must be a registered voter in the City. Each member represents the interests of the City as a whole. Starting with the 2018 Election, four (4) Councilmembers were elected by Districts with the remaining three (3) Councilmembers to be elected by Districts in 2020. Until a City Councilmember is elected by Districts, they remain “at-large”.

The newly elected Councilmembers assume their seat on the City Council in December and serve for a term of four years.

At the same time, the Council is reorganized and one of its members is selected to be mayor (we don’t vote for our mayor). The Mayor serves a term of 2 years. He/She is the presiding officer of the Council. The Mayor has been delegated the responsibility to act as the City Council’s ceremonial representative at public events and functions. The Deputy Mayor is also selected in the same manner and serves a 2-year term.

To be placed on the ballot a candidate must circulate a nomination form provided by the City Clerk, gathering not more than 30, but not less than 20 signatures of registered voters in the City to qualify for placement on the ballot.

Have a question send to [email protected] and we will try to get an answer.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email