Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship award winners

Scholarship award winners were all smiles when presented their checks.

The Ventura Police Officers Association (VPOA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 14th annual Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship. The scholarships are to honor Sergeant Darlon “Dee” Dowell, who was shot and killed on August 7, 1978. Sergeant Dowell is the only officer in Ventura’s history to die in the line of duty.

In selecting scholarship recipients, the VPOA considered academic achievement, school and community service, financial needs, and other requirements:

Applicants must be entering his/her freshman through senior year in college.
Plan a course of study related to the field of public service;
Ventura resident or have graduated from a high school in Ventura within the past three years and have a grade point average of 3.0 or better.

2017 Scholarship Awards Winners:

1st Place $5,000.00 Taylor Grosenbach
2nd Place $3,500.00 Emily Kinnaman
3rd Place $2,000.00 Reyn Hoffman

Honorable Mention $500.00 Spencer Tilken

The VPOA would like to thank all of the applicants and congratulate the 2017 winners of the Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship!

“Be honest, be safe, and look forward to each day.” –Sgt Dee Dowell

Print Friendly, PDF & Email