Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship Award winners

2019 Scholarship Award Winners Annika Kinnaman, Bryce Weinell and Labiba Sardar.

The Ventura Police Officers’ Association (VPOA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 16th annual Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship. The scholarships are to honor Sergeant Darlon “Dee” Dowell, who was shot and killed on August 7, 1978. Sergeant Dowell is the only officer in Ventura’s history to die in the line of duty.

In selecting scholarship recipients, the VPOA considered academic achievement, school and community service, financial needs, and the following requirements:

Applicants must:

  • Be entering his/her freshman through senior year in college;

  • Plan a course of study related to the field of public service;

  • Ventura resident or have graduated from a high school in Ventura within the past three years, or a Ventura Police Department employee or employee’s child.

  • Have a grade point average of 3.0 or better (based on a 4.0 system);

  • Maintain a grade point average of 3.0 or better if selected as a recipient;

  • Submit a resume of school and community activities, including a copy of transcripts through the most recent semester;

  • Submit an essay of 1000 words or less on “Service, what it means to me”;

  • Submit a letter of reccommendation from a public servant.

1st Place $5,000.00 Annika Kinnaman

2nd Place $3,500.00 Bryce Weinell

3rd Place $2,000.00 Labiba Sardar

The VPOA would like to thank all of the applicants and congratulate the 2019 winners of the Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship!

“Be honest, be safe, and look forward to each day.” –Sgt Dee Dowell

Print Friendly, PDF & Email