Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

Winner Philip Drescher accepting his check from VPOA board members Schuyler Heard, Mike Hibdon and Bill Griffin.

The Ventura Police Officers’ Association (VPOA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 15th annual Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship. The scholarships are to honor Sergeant Darlon “Dee” Dowell, who was shot and killed on August 7, 1978. Sergeant Dowell is the only officer in Ventura’s history to die in the line of duty.

In selecting scholarship recipients, the VPOA considered academic achievement, school and community service, financial needs, and the following requirements:

Applicants must:

Be entering his/her freshman through senior year in college;

Plan a course of study related to the field of public service;

Ventura resident or have graduated from a high school in Ventura within the past three years, or a Ventura Police Department employee or employee’s child.

Have a grade point average of 3.0 or better (based on a 4.0 system);

Maintain a grade point average of 3.0 or better if selected as a recipient;

Submit a resume of school and community activities, including a copy of transcripts through the most recent semester;

Submit an essay of 1000 words or less on “Leadership, what it means to me”;

Submit a letter of recommendation from a public servant.

2018 Scholarship Awards Winners:

1st Place $5,000.00 Philip Drescher

2nd Place $3,500.00 Haiden Henderson

3rd Place $2,000.00 Elissa Root

The VPOA thanks all of the applicants and congratulates the 2018 winners of the Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship!

“Be honest, be safe, and look forward to each day.” Sgt Dee Dowell.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email