Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship award winners

stuff dee dowellThe Ventura Police Officers Association (VPOA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 12th annual Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship. The scholarships are to honor Sergeant Darlon “Dee” Dowell, who was shot and killed on August 7, 1978. Sergeant Dowell is the only officer in Ventura’s history to die in the line of duty.

In selecting scholarship recipients, the VPOA considered academic achievement, school and community service, financial needs, and the following requirements:

Applicants had to submit  a resume of school and community activities, including a copy of transcripts through the most recent semester;

Submit an essay of 1000 words or less on “Service, what it means to me”;

Submit a letter of recommendation from a public servant.

2015 Scholarship Awards winners:

1st Place $5,000.00  Joshua Rance
2nd Place $3,500.00  Alex Brunk
3rd Place $2,000.00  Jordan Schindler
Honorable Mention(s) $500.00  Jonathan Richmond and Aaron Borkovec

The VPOA would like to thank all of the applicants and congratulate the 2015 winners of the Dee Dowell Memorial Scholarship!

“Be honest, be safe, and look forward to each day.” –Sgt Dee Dowell

Print Friendly, PDF & Email